Mark your calendar for our Second Annual Spring Concert by our Music Ministry at 3 pm on Sunday, May 21.  We have a wonderful hour of music by our handbells, Chorale and the Chancel Choir!  Invite friends and neighbors to join us!  There will be a reception afterwards.





The liturgical season of Lent begins on Ash Wednesday (March 1, 2017) and lasts until Holy Saturday (40 days).  During the season of Lent, many Christians observe a period of fasting, repentance, self-denial, moderation and spiritual discipline.  The purpose of Lent is to set aside a period of reflection on Jesus -his suffering and sacrifice.

 Worship services throughout Lent reflect this period of moderation byemphasizing prayer, contemplation, and reflection over traditional praise.  As such, a marked difference will be obvious in our worship.  Hymns, anthems, and special music will be more solemn in nature.  Doxologies and hymns of praise will be temporarily set aside. Preludes and offertories will be subdued and contemplative. The postlude will be replaced with a short, meditative instrumental song prior to the benediction to encourage personal prayer and reflection.

In preparation, take time to reflect and meditate on the words of two of our most beloved hymns - What Wondrous Love Is This (Hymn 171) and When I Survey the Wondrous Cross (Hymn 186).   We encourage you to prayerfully wander with us throughout the 40 days of Lent as we move toward the wonderment of Easter morning.   




Newly Elected Deacons for 2017

The Diaconate is pleased to announce our newly elected deacons for 2017 — Carrie Bearden, Jan Causey, Nancy Crothers and Charlie Thurman.  Nancy Crothers and Charlie Thurman were ordained during worship on Sunday, January 8, 2017. 

The 2017 Diaconate Officers are Carrie Bearden, Chair; Joyce Bell, Vice Chair; Lisa Grady, Secretary-Treasurer; and David Beverly, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer.

Thank you to these four who have answered the call to serve. Also, appreciation is given to John Condron, Kathy Leichty and Bettie McCormick for their dedicated service during their three-year term.